• Utilities track loader purchase delayed

    Buying a new track loader for Leitchfield Utilities has been delayed while Utilities Superintendent Dwight Embry researches possible machines.

    Earlier this month the Utilities Commission reviewed bids for three 2017 models: a Kubota from Hobdy, Dye and Read for $59,700, a John Deere from ERB Equipment Co. for $70,004, and a Caterpillar from Whayne Supply Co. for $82,074.

    At that time Embry said the Kubota – the low bid – likely would be OK for the utilities department’s needs, but asked for a delay to look more closely at the three models.

  • oijsfd


  • Fire dues head to tax bills

    Most Grayson County fire departments have provided the county’s fiscal court with the paperwork needed to add optional fire dues on property tax bills starting in 2016.

    That announcement was made at a recent fiscal court meeting, and was the final step needed for the process to begin.

    The Caneyville Volunteer Fire Department was the only one out of seven area departments that elected not to turn in the paperwork. Fire Chief Anthony Clark could not be reached for comment.

  • Fiscal Court approves bids

    Grayson County Fiscal Court approved bids for road materials, hauling and mowing during its June 19 meeting.

    Caneyville Crushed Rock and Scotty’s Stone road materials bids were approved. Future Designs’ bid for roll tiles was approved, as was Key Oil’s bid to supply county fuel.

    A hauling bid from Randall Decker Trucking was approved. The bid is a backup measure in case county vehicles are unable to make a pickup.

  • LFD chief steps down

    Leitchfield Fire Chief Gerald “Jerry” Schlosser officially gave his letter of resignation to the Leitchfield City Council Monday night.

    Schlosser will step down on his 70th birthday, July 22.

    A member of the fire department for nearly 44 years Schlosser said his age and “rather serious” health problems, including arthritis and diabetes, are reasons for his early departure.

  • Weeds sky high? That’ll cost you now in Clarkson

    Clarkson will soon begin enforcing a nuisance ordinance concerning overgrown grass on private property.

    The announcement came during Monday’s meeting of the Clarkson City Commission.

  • Tourism seeks city funding

    The Leitchfield Tourism Commission is seeking help from the city of Leitchfield in covering its financial deficit.

    During the May 18 city council meeting, it was announced that the Tourism Commission is asking the city to cover $15,000 of a $30,000 deficit from last year. The 2014 deficit was around $34,000, mostly due to youth sports.

  • Utilities Commission buys equipment

    The Leitchfield Utilities Commission approved buying equipment from the city’s Public Works department at its May 7 meeting.

    The commission voted to buy a 1989 TW15 tractor for $12,000.

    There was a proposal the commission also buy a 1999 bush hog for $3,500 from Public Works, but it was tabled. David Vickery, the commission’s attorney, was skeptical of the price.

    “There’s no way a ’99 bush hog is worth that much,” he said.

  • Leitchfield getting new telecom provider

    By Brant Bond
    The Record

    Leitchfield will be represented by a new cable franchise.

    The City Council approved an ordinance May 4 to establish a new franchise for telecommunications service in the area. The only bid came from Windstream.

    “The bid we received from Windstream meets the requirements of the city,” city attorney Ken Smart said. “It was the highest, best bid available.”

  • Stone trial set for May

    By Brant Bond
    The Record

    A former Grayson County Emergency Medical Services employee who was arrested on charges of fraudulent use of a GC EMS-owned credit card last year was in Grayson County Circuit Court Tuesday, April 21.

    A pre-trial conference was held for 49-year-old Lonnie Stone, now working full-time as an EMS paramedic in Owensboro. Stone is accused of using the company-owned credit card for personal purchases of $10,000 or more, according to an indictment filed on June 3, 2014.